Iron Clouds

for Solo Voice(s) and 1-6 players (2000)


Duration - 3 minutes

Soloist - any voice type

Orchestration - pf

Availability - For sale


Program Notes

Text by Emily Brontë. 

Premiere: February 2000 at Kilbourne     Hall, Eastman School of Music (Rochester, New York). Nicole Cabell, soprano; Janelle Fung, piano.

This work is a short and austere setting of a poetic fragment by Emily Brontë. I was particularly interested in her description of light breaking monotone gray.